Gaeta (016)

Gaeta9 photos

Description

Coordonnées : 41° 12′ 31″ N, 13° 35′ 13″ E

Gaeta est une ville et une municipalité dans la province de Latina, dans le Latium. Située sur un promontoire qui s’étend vers le Golfe de Gaète, elle est à 120 km de Rome et à 80 km de Naples. La ville a joué un rôle remarquable dans l’histoire militaire : ses fortifications datent de l’époque romaine, et elle a plusieurs traces de la période, y compris le mausolée du 1er siècle du général romain Lucius Munatius Plancus en haut du Monte Orlando. Les fortifications Gaeta ont été étendues et renforcées dans le 15ème siècle, en particulier à travers l’histoire du Royaume de Naples (plus tard, les Deux-Siciles). De nos jours Gaeta est axée vers la pêche et l’huile et le tourisme.

Galerie photo

Photos prises avec un Canon EOS1-Ds Mark II

Carte

Ouvrir dans Google Maps : Gaeta

Voir aussi

Latium7 067 photos

Forum Romain (162)
Forum RomainRome - Latium - Italie

Le Latium (Lazio) est l’une des 20 régions administratives de l’Italie, située dans la section centrale du pays. Avec environ 5,7 millions d’habitants et un PIB de plus de 170 milliards d’euros, le Latium est la troisième région la plus peuplée de… [Lire la suite]

Abbaye de Montecassino18 photosAnagni24 photosAnguillara Sabazia82 photosAriccia5 photosArsoli32 photosArtena14 photosBagnoregio75 photosBolsena31 photosBomarzo92 photosCalcata106 photosCantalice52 photosCapodimonte48 photosCaprarola43 photosCervara di Roma60 photosCerveteri87 photosFarnèse65 photosFossanova65 photosGaeta9 photosGenazzano20 photosGenzano di Roma587 photosGrottaferrata60 photosIsola Sacra12 photosLabro47 photosLadispoli51 photosLicenza19 photosMontefiascone84 photosNorchia32 photosOasi di Ninfa32 photosOlevano Romano26 photosOstia Antica96 photosPatrica46 photosPlus belles photos d’Italie663 photosPonza223 photosPriverno12 photosRoccantica20 photosRocchette38 photosRome …3 121 photosSan Guiliano11 photosSan Vito Romano17 photosSanta Severa30 photosSperlonga46 photosSutri44 photosTarquinia36 photosTerracina57 photosTivoli152 photosToffia40 photosTolfa31 photosVentotene172 photosVigna di Valle131 photosViterbe44 photosVitorchiano118 photosVulci41 photos

Gaeta9 photos

This site does not use cookies at all. Whoever visits this site can therefore do so knowing that his navigation will not be tracked in any way, and will not be profiled for commercial or other purposes.

Description

Gaeta (016)
Gaeta (016)

41° 12′ 31″ N, 13° 35′ 13″ E

Gaeta is a city and municipality in the province of Latina, in Lazio. Set on a promontory stretching towards the Gulf of Gaeta, it is 120 km from Rome and 80 km from Naples. The town has played a conspicuous part in military history: its fortifications date back to Roman times, and it has several traces of the period, including the 1st century mausoleum of the Roman general Lucius Munatius Plancus at the top of the Monte Orlando. Gaeta’s fortifications were extended and strengthened in the 15th century, especially throughout the history of the Kingdom of Naples (later the Two Sicilies). Present day Gaeta is a fishing and oil seaport, and a renowned tourist resort.

Photos

Click the pictures to view them in full screen

Photo index

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1

Map

See also

Lazio

Roman Forum (162)
Roman Forum (162)

Lazio is one of the 20 administrative regions of Italy, situated in the central peninsular section of the country. With about 5.7 million residents and a GDP of more than 170 billion euros, Lazio is the third most populated region of Italy, and has… [Read more]