Khumbu 1997168 photos


Khumbu (315) Changtse (7543m)
Changtse (7543m)Khumbu (315)

Coordinates: 27° 58′ 46″ N, 86° 55′ 17″ E

Khumbu (also known as the Everest Region) is a region of northeastern Nepal on the Nepalese side of Mount Everest. It is part of the Solukhumbu District, which in turn is part of the Sagarmatha Zone. Khumbu is one of three subregions of the main Khambu (specially Kulung) and Sherpa settlement of the Himalaya, the other two being Solu and Pharak. It includes the town of Namche Bazaar as well as the villages of Thame, Khumjung, Pangboche, Pheriche and Kunde. The famous Buddhist monastery at Tengboche is also located in the Khumbu.

[Read more]

The Khumbu’s elevation ranges from 3,300 m to the 8,848 m summit of Mount Everest, the highest place on Earth. The Khumbu region includes both Sagarmatha National Park (above Monju) and the Sagarmatha National Park Buffer Zone, between Lukla and Monju.

The Khumbu is a glacier believed to be the result of the last great Ice Age, ~500,000 years ago.

Photo gallery

Don’t miss: Most beautiful photos of Asia (Middle format)

Pictures taken with a Rolleiflex 6800 and scanned with a Nikon LS 9000 ED


Open in Google Maps: Cho Oyu, Dingboche, Everest, Gokyo, Gokyo Peak, Kala Pattar, Lhotse, Lobuche, Lukla, Namche Bazaar, Pangboche, Tengboche

See also