Maastricht73 photos

Description

Maastricht (010) Théâtre du Vrijthof
Théâtre du VrijthofMaastricht (010)

Coordonnées : 50° 50′ 55″ N, 5° 41′ 16″ E

Maastricht est une ville dans la partie sud de la province néerlandaise de Limbourg, dont elle est la capitale. La ville est située sur les deux côtés de la Meuse dans la partie sud-est des Pays-Bas, à la frontière belge et à proximité de la frontière allemande. La ville fait partie de l’Euregio Meuse-Rhin, qui comprend Aachen en Allemagne et Hasselt et Liège en Belgique.

[Lire la suite]

Principaux sites

  • Le Musée Bonnefanten est le premier musée d’art ancien et d’art contemporain dans la province de Limbourg. Faits saillants sont une série de peintures de Pieter Brueghel le Jeune et d’autres artistes du sud des Pays-Bas, et une collection permanente d’art contemporain, représentant le Minimalisme Américain et l’Arte Povera.
  • La basilique Saint-Servais est une église catholique romaine dédiée à Saint-Servais. L’église à l’architecture hybride mais principalement romane est située à côté de l’église gothique de Saint-Jean, adossée à la place principale de la ville, Vrijthof.
  • Le Stadhuis est l’hôtel de ville du centre de Maastricht. Il est situé sur le Markt. Le bâtiment a été conçu par Pieter Post au 17ème siècle dans le style du classicisme hollandais.
  • Le théâtre du Vrijthof est un théâtre situé sur le Vrijthof dans la Generaalshuis, un hôtel particulier datant de 1805.
  • La Porte de l’Enfer (ou Helpoort) est une ancienne porte médiévale de la ville de Maastricht.

Galerie photo

Ne manquez pas : Plus belles photos du Benelux

Photos prises avec un Canon EOS1-Ds Mark II

Carte

Ouvrir dans Google Maps : Maastricht

Voir aussi

Pays-Bas1 819 photos

Amsterdam (151)
AmsterdamPays-Bas

Les Pays-Bas sont un pays constitutif du Royaume des Pays-Bas, situé principalement dans Nord-Ouest de l’Europe et avec quelques îles dans les Caraïbes. Les Pays-Bas bordent la Mer du Nord au nord et à l’ouest, la Belgique au sud, et l’Allemagne à… [Lire la suite]

Alkmaar40 photosAlmere106 photosAmersfoort14 photosAmsterdam121 photosBerg-op-Zoom4 photosBois-le-Duc37 photosDelft43 photosEdam - Volendam50 photosEnkhuizen126 photosGouda42 photosGroningue134 photosHaarlem51 photosHaarzuilens61 photosHeemskerk19 photosHeeswijk27 photosHilversum42 photosHoensbroek4 photosHoorn52 photosKatwijk aan Zee17 photosKinderdijk70 photosLeiden17 photosLelystad97 photosMaastricht73 photosMarken62 photosMiddelburg48 photosMuiderslot22 photosOudenbosch22 photosRotterdam160 photosScheveningen123 photosSlochteren16 photosVoorschoten41 photosZaanse Schans78 photos

Maastricht73 photos

Description

Maastricht (010) Theater at the Vrijthof
Theater at the VrijthofMaastricht (010)

Coordinates: 50° 50′ 55″ N, 5° 41′ 16″ E

Maastricht is a city in the southern part of the Dutch province of Limburg, of which it is the capital. The city is situated on both sides of the Meuse River in the south-eastern part of the Netherlands, on the Belgian border and near the German border. The city is part of the Meuse-Rhine Euroregion, which includes Aachen in Germany and Hasselt and Liège in Belgium.

Main sights

  • The Bonnefanten Museum is the foremost museum for old masters and contemporary fine art in the province of Limburg. Highlights are a series of paintings by Pieter Brueghel the Younger and other Southern Netherlandish artists, and a permanent collection of contemporary art featuring American Minimalism and Arte Povera.
  • The Basilica of Saint Servatius is a Roman Catholic church dedicated to Saint Servatius. The architecturally hybrid but mainly Romanesque church is situated next to the Gothic church of Saint John, backing onto the town’s main square, Vrijthof.
  • The Stadhuis is the town hall in the centre of Maastricht. It is sited on the Markt. The building was designed by Pieter Post in the 17th century in the style of Dutch classicism.
  • The Vrijthof Theater is a theater located on the Vrijthof in the Generaalshuis, a mansion dating from 1805.
  • The Hellgate (or Helpoort) is a former medieval gate in the city of Maastricht.

Photo gallery

Don’t miss: Most beautiful pictures of the Benelux

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1-Ds Mark II

Map

Open in Google Maps: Maastricht

See also

Netherlands1,819 photos

Amsterdam (151)
AmsterdamNetherlands

The Netherlands is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, located mainly in North-West Europe and with some islands in the Caribbean. Mainland Netherlands borders the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and … [Read more]

Alkmaar40 photosAlmere106 photosAmersfoort14 photosAmsterdam121 photosBergen op Zoom4 photosDelft43 photosEdam - Volendam50 photosEnkhuizen126 photosGouda42 photosGroningen134 photosHaarlem51 photosHaarzuilens61 photosHeemskerk19 photosHeeswijk27 photosHilversum42 photosHoensbroek4 photosHoorn52 photosKatwijk aan Zee17 photosKinderdijk70 photosLeiden17 photosLelystad97 photosMaastricht73 photosMarken62 photosMiddelburg48 photosMuiderslot22 photosOudenbosch22 photosRotterdam160 photosScheveningen123 photosSlochteren16 photosVoorschoten41 photosZaanse Schans78 photos’s-Hertogenbosch37 photos