Santi Ambrogio e Carlo (009)

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso17 photos

Description

Coordonnées : 41° 54′ 20″ N, 12° 28′ 42″ E

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso (généralement connue simplement comme San Carlo al Corso) est une basilique de Rome, donnant sur la partie centrale de la Via del Corso. L’abside de l’église fait face au Mausolée d’Auguste sur Via di Ripetta. Cette église est dédiée à Saint Ambroise et Saint-Charles-Borromée, tous deux natifs de Milan. Elle est l’une des trois églises de Rome réservés à Borromée; d’autres incluent San Carlo ai Catinari et San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane. Sa construction a commencé en l’honneur de la canonisation de Saint Charles Borromée en 1610, sous la direction d’Onorio Longhi et, après sa mort, de son fils Martino Longhi le Jeune. Le site a été celui de l’ancienne église de San Nicola de Tofo. Le plan est basé sur la croix latine. Le dôme, ressemblant à celui de Santi Luca e Martina, a été conçu par Pietro da Cortona (1668), qui était également responsable de l’abside et des riches décorations intérieures. La façade a été conçue par le Cardinal Luigi Alessandro Omodei, qui n’aimait pas le projet préparé par Carlo Rainaldi.

[Lire la suite]

La voûte centrale est décorée de fresques avec une Chute des Anges Rebelles (1677-1679) par Giacinto Brandi. Le retable, représentant les Saints Ambroise et Charles Borromée avec la Vierge et Jésus, a été peint vers 1685-1690 par Carlo Maratta. La décoration en stuc était de Giacomo et Cosimo Fancelli. La statue des saints était de Francesco Cavallini. Les fresques des Justice et Paix ont été peintes par Girolamo Troppa. Dans le déambulatoire derrière le sanctuaire, est un créneau où est maintenu un reliquaire contenant le cœur de Saint Charles. Il a été donné à l’église en 1614 par le cardinal Federico Borromeo, un cousin du saint. L’oratoire du 16ème siècle de Saint Ambroise est au-delà du transept gauche.

La première chapelle à droite est dédiée à la Crucifixion et dispose d’une fresque de Vigilance par Paolo Albertoni. La seconde chapelle à droite est dédiée à Marie, Aide des Chrétiens (Maria Auxilium Christianorum) et a une représentation de la Vierge donnée par Saint Vincent Pallotti au 19ème siècle. La troisième chapelle à droite est dédiée à la Sainte Famille. Sur le côté gauche est une représentation du Redempteur et Saints Ambroise et Charles ainsi que le monument funéraire de Federico Borromeo. À l’extérieur, sur les côtés de l’abside et face à l’ancien Mausolée d’Auguste, sont deux statues géantes des saints titulaires, parmi les plus importantes de Rome.

Galerie photo

Ne manquez pas : Plus belles photos d’Italie

Photos prises avec un Canon EOS1-Ds Mark II

Carte

Ouvrir dans Google Maps : Santi Ambrogio e Carlo

Voir aussi

Églises2 744 photos

San Pietro (001)
VaticanVatican

Églises à travers le monde. [Lire la suite]

Abbaye de Fürstenfeld158 photosAbbaye de Weltenbourg29 photosAbbaye d’Ottobeuren68 photosAltötting94 photosAnagni24 photosArchibasilique Saint-Jean-de-Latran155 photosAssise31 photosBasilique Saint-Clément-du-Latran43 photosBasilique Sainte-Cécile-du-Trastevere29 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-du-Peuple32 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-in-Cosmedin15 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-Majeure29 photosCastelpetroso26 photosChiesa del 2000114 photosChiesa del Santo Volto di Gesu38 photosÉglise Asam (Munich)42 photosÉglise de Wies47 photosFossanova65 photosGerace20 photosMaria Gern14 photosMétéores110 photosMonastère d’Osios Loukas58 photosNativité de Marie (Rottenbuch)29 photosOrvieto58 photosOudenbosch22 photosPadoue149 photosPadula123 photosPanthéon (Rome)15 photosPatmos211 photosPizzo62 photosRavenne110 photosSaint-Ignace-de-Loyola à Campus Martius16 photosSan Galgano44 photosSanctuaire de Wilparting26 photosSanti Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso17 photosSant’Antimo104 photosSienne90 photosStilo21 photosVatican136 photosVérone270 photos

Rome3 121 photos

Forum Romain (162)
Forum RomainRome - Latium - Italie

Rome est la capitale de l’Italie ainsi que de la province homonyme et de la région du Latium. Avec 2,7 millions d’habitants dans 1 285,3 km², elle est aussi la municipalité la plus grande et la plus peuplée du pays et la quatrième ville la plus… [Lire la suite]

Archibasilique Saint-Jean-de-Latran155 photosAtelier Canova Tadolini59 photosAuditorium22 photosAula Ottagona48 photosBasilique Saint-Clément-du-Latran43 photosBasilique Sainte-Cécile-du-Trastevere29 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-du-Peuple32 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-in-Cosmedin15 photosBasilique Sainte-Marie-Majeure29 photosCampo de’ Fiori100 photosCapitole19 photosCentro Agroalimentare Roma19 photosChiesa del 2000114 photosChiesa del Santo Volto di Gesu38 photosCimetière Communal Monumental de Campo Verano124 photosCimetière Protestant38 photosCoppede103 photosFesta della Primavera31 photosFontaine de la Déesse Rome14 photosFontaine de Trevi19 photosFontaine des Tortues21 photosFontana dell’Acqua Paola27 photosForum Romain84 photosGalleria Sciarra24 photosGoal - Mario Ceroli39 photosJanicule43 photosMonument à Victor-Emmanuel II23 photosMusée Andersen8 photosMusées du Capitole77 photosNeige à Rome - Février 201222 photosOspedale delle Bambole42 photosPalazzo dei Tribunali24 photosPanthéon (Rome)15 photosParc des Aqueducs41 photosPiazza Colonna5 photosPiazza del Popolo24 photosPiazza della Rotonda18 photosPiazza Navona31 photosPiazza Sant’Ignazio8 photosPincio4 photosPlus belles photos d’Italie663 photosPont Milvio85 photosPont Sant-Ange51 photosSaint-Ignace-de-Loyola à Campus Martius16 photosSan Pietro in Montorio - Tempietto3 photosSanti Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso17 photosThéâtre de Marcellus11 photosThermes de Caracalla32 photosTibre23 photosTrash People111 photosValentino à Rome206 photosVatican136 photosVia Margutta18 photosVilla Doria-Pamphili20 photosVilla Torlonia72 photosVoie Appienne26 photos

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso

17 photos

This site does not use cookies at all. Whoever visits this site can therefore do so knowing that his navigation will not be tracked in any way, and will not be profiled for commercial or other purposes.

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al CorsoRome

Description

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo (009)
Santi Ambrogio e Carlo (009)
41° 54′ 20″ N, 12° 28′ 42″ E

Santi Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso (usually known simply as San Carlo al Corso) is a basilica church in Rome, facing onto the central part of the Via del Corso. The apse of the church faces across the street, the Mausoleum of Augustus on Via di Ripetta. This church is dedicated to Saint Ambrose and Saint Charles Borromeo, both natives of Milan. It is one of at least three churches in Rome dedicated to Borromeo; others include San Carlo ai Catinari and San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane. Its construction was begun in honour of the canonization of St Charles Borromeo in 1610, under the direction of Onorio Longhi and, after his death, of his son Martino Longhi the Younger. The site was that of the former church of San Nicola de Tofo. The ground plan is based on the Latin cross. The dome, resembling that of Santi Luca e Martina, was designed by Pietro da Cortona (1668), who was also responsible for the apse and rich internal decorations. The façade was designed by Cardinal Luigi Alessandro Omodei, who did not like the project prepared by Carlo Rainaldi.

[Read more]

The central vault is frescoed with a Fall of the Rebel Angels (1677-1679) by Giacinto Brandi. The altarpiece, depicting the Saints Ambrose and Charles Borromeo with the Virgin and Jesus, was painted around 1685-1690 by Carlo Maratta. The stucco decoration was by Giacomo and Cosimo Fancelli. The statue of the saints was by Francesco Cavallini. Frescoes of Justice and Peace were painted by Girolamo Troppa. In the ambulatory behind the sanctuary, is a niche where a reliquary containing the heart of St Charles is kept. It was donated to the church in 1614 by Cardinal Federico Borromeo, a cousin of the saint. The 16th century oratory of St Ambrose is beyond the left transept.

The first chapel on the right is dedicated to the Crucifixion and has a fresco of Vigilance by Paolo Albertoni. The second chapel on the right is dedicated to Mary, Aid of Christians (Maria Auxilium Christianorum) has an image of the Virgin donated by St Vincent Pallotti in the 19th century. The third chapel on the right is dedicated to the Holy Family. On the left side of it is a depiction of The Redemptor and Saints Ambrose and Charles as well as the sepulchral monument of Federico Borromeo. On the exterior, to the sides of the apse and facing the ancient Mausoleum of Augustus, are two giant statues of the titular saints, amongst the largest in Rome.

Photos

Click the pictures to view them in full screen

Collage index

Photo index

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1

Map

See also

Churches2,736 photos

San Pietro (001)
Vatican City

Churches around the world.[Read more]

Rome2,456 photos

Roman Forum (162)
Roman ForumRome - Lazio - Italy

Rome is the capital of Italy and also of the homonymous province and of the region of Lazio. With 2.7 million residents in 1,285.3 km², it is also the country’s largest and most populated municipality and fourth most populous city in the European… [Read more]

Andersen Museum8 photosAppian Way26 photosAuditorium22 photosAula Ottagona48 photosBaths of Caracalla32 photosCampo de’ Fiori100 photosCanova Tadolini Workshop59 photosCapitoline Hill19 photosCapitoline Museums77 photosCemetery Campo Verano124 photosCentro Agroalimentare Roma19 photosChiesa del 2000114 photosChiesa del Santo Volto di Gesu38 photosCoppede103 photosFesta della Primavera31 photosFontana dell’Acqua Paola27 photosFountain of the Goddess Rome14 photosFountain of the Tortoises21 photosGalleria Sciarra24 photosGoal - Mario Ceroli41 photosJaniculum43 photosMonumento a Vittorio Emanuele II23 photosOspedale delle Bambole42 photosPalazzo dei Tribunali24 photosPantheon15 photosParco degli Acquedotti41 photosPiazza Colonna5 photosPiazza del Popolo24 photosPiazza della Rotonda18 photosPiazza Navona31 photosPiazza Sant’Ignazio8 photosPonte Milvio85 photosPonte Sant’Angelo51 photosProtestant Cemetery38 photosRoman Forum84 photosSaint Ignatius of Loyola at Campus Martius16 photosSan Clemente al Laterano43 photosSan Giovanni in Laterano155 photosSan Pietro in Montorio - Tempietto3 photosSanta Cecilia in Trastevere29 photosSanta Maria del Popolo32 photosSanta Maria in Cosmedin15 photosSanta Maria Maggiore29 photosSanti Ambrogio e Carlo al Corso17 photosSnow in Rome - February 201222 photosTheatre of Marcellus11 photosTiber23 photosTrash People111 photosTrevi Fountain19 photosValentino in Rome206 photosVatican City136 photosVia Margutta18 photosVilla Doria-Pamphili20 photosVilla Torlonia72 photos