Villa Adriana (099)

Tivoli152 photos

Description

Coordonnées : 41° 57′ 45″ N, 12° 47′ 49″ E

Tivoli, le classique Tibur, est une ancienne ville dans le Latium, à environ 30 km de Rome, aux chutes de la rivière Aniene, où elle surgit des Collines Sabine.

La Villa d’Este est une villa située à Tivoli. Classée site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, c’est un bel exemple d’architecture Renaissance et de jardin de la Renaissance italienne. La Villa est entourée sur trois côtés d’une cour du 16ème siècle située sur l’ancien cloître bénédictin.

La Villa d’Hadrien (Villa Adriana) est un grand complexe archéologique romain. La villa a été construite à Tibur comme une retraite de Rome pour Empereur Hadrien au début du 2ème siècle. Hadrien a été dit de ne pas aimer le palais sur le Palatin à Rome, conduisant à la construction de la retraite. Durant les dernières années de son règne, il a régi l’empire de la villa. Une grande cour a donc vécu là en permanence. Un service postal les relia à Rome. Après Hadrien, la villa a été utilisée par ses différents successeurs. Au 16ème siècle, le Cardinal Hippolyte d’Este retira beaucoup du marbre et des statues de la Villa d’Hadrien pour décorer sa propre Villa d’Este située à proximité.

Galerie photo

Ne manquez pas : Plus belles photos d’Italie

Photos prises avec un Canon EOS1-Ds Mark II

Carte

Ouvrir dans Google Maps : Villa Adriana, Villa d’Este

Voir aussi

Latium7 067 photos

Forum Romain (162)
Forum RomainRome - Latium - Italie

Le Latium (Lazio) est l’une des 20 régions administratives de l’Italie, située dans la section centrale du pays. Avec environ 5,7 millions d’habitants et un PIB de plus de 170 milliards d’euros, le Latium est la troisième région la plus peuplée de… [Lire la suite]

Abbaye de Montecassino18 photosAnagni24 photosAnguillara Sabazia82 photosAriccia5 photosArsoli32 photosArtena14 photosBagnoregio75 photosBolsena31 photosBomarzo92 photosCalcata106 photosCantalice52 photosCapodimonte48 photosCaprarola43 photosCervara di Roma60 photosCerveteri87 photosFarnèse65 photosFossanova65 photosGaeta9 photosGenazzano20 photosGenzano di Roma587 photosGrottaferrata60 photosIsola Sacra12 photosLabro47 photosLadispoli51 photosLicenza19 photosMontefiascone84 photosNorchia32 photosOasi di Ninfa32 photosOlevano Romano26 photosOstia Antica96 photosPatrica46 photosPlus belles photos d’Italie663 photosPonza223 photosPriverno12 photosRoccantica20 photosRocchette38 photosRome …3 121 photosSan Guiliano11 photosSan Vito Romano17 photosSanta Severa30 photosSperlonga46 photosSutri44 photosTarquinia36 photosTerracina57 photosTivoli152 photosToffia40 photosTolfa31 photosVentotene172 photosVigna di Valle131 photosViterbe44 photosVitorchiano118 photosVulci41 photos

Background (001)
Home page

Tivoli[152 photos]

This site does not use cookies at all. Whoever visits this site can therefore do so knowing that his navigation will not be tracked in any way, and will not be profiled for commercial or other purposes.

Description

Villa Adriana (099)
Villa Adriana (099)

41° 56′ 46″ N, 12° 46′ 23″ E

Tivoli, the classical Tibur, is an ancient town in Lazio, about 30 km from Rome, at the falls of the Aniene River, where it issues from the Sabine hills.

[Read more]

The Villa d’Este is a villa situated at Tivoli. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it is a fine example of Renaissance architecture and the Italian Renaissance garden. The Villa itself surrounds on three sides a 16th century courtyard sited on the former Benedictine cloister.

The Hadrian’s Villa (Villa Adriana) is a large Roman archaeological complex. The villa was constructed at Tibur as a retreat from Rome for Roman Emperor Hadrian in the early 2nd century. Hadrian was said to dislike the palace on the Palatine Hill in Rome, leading to the construction of the retreat. During the later years of his reign, he actually governed the empire from the villa. A large court therefore lived there permanently. A postal service connected them to Rome. After Hadrian, the villa was used by his various successors. In the 16th century Cardinal Ippolito II d’Este had much of the marble and statues in Hadrian’s Villa removed to decorate his own Villa d’’Este located nearby.

See also

Lazio

Roman Forum (162)
Roman Forum (162)

Lazio is one of the 20 administrative regions of Italy, situated in the central peninsular section of the country. With about 5.7 million residents and a GDP of more than 170 billion euros, Lazio is the third most populated region of Italy, and has… [Read more]

My UNESCO sites