Sojus TMA-12 (229) Rollout von Sojus

Kasachstan371 Fotos


Kazakhstan, officially the Republic of Kazakhstan (Қазақстан Республикасы), is a contiguous transcontinental country in Central Asia, with its smaller part west of the Ural River in Eastern Europe. Kazakhstan is the world’s largest landlocked country by land area and the ninth largest country in the world; its territory of 2,727,300 km² is larger than Western Europe. It has borders with Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan, and also adjoins a large part of the Caspian Sea. The terrain of Kazakhstan includes flatlands, steppe, taiga, rock canyons, hills, deltas, snow-capped mountains, and deserts. With 17 million people (2013 estimate) Kazakhstan has the 62nd largest population in the world, though its population density is less than 6 people per km². The capital is Astana, where it was moved from Almaty in 1997.

[Mehr dazu]

The territory of Kazakhstan has historically been inhabited by nomadic tribes. This changed in the 13th century, when Genghis Khan occupied the country. When his ruling family fought for power, power generally switched back to the nomads. By the 16th century, the Kazakhs emerged as a distinct group, divided into three jüz (ancestor branches occupying specific territories). The Russians began advancing into the Kazakh steppe in the 18th century, and by the mid-19th century all of Kazakhstan was part of the Russian Empire. Following the 1917 Russian Revolution, and subsequent civil war, the territory of Kazakhstan was reorganised several times before becoming the Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic in 1936, a part of the Soviet Union. Kazakhstan was the last of the Soviet republics to declare independence following the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991; the current President, Nursultan Nazarbayev, has been leader of the country since 1990.

Russia currently leases approximately 6,000 km² of territory enclosing the Baikonur Cosmodrome space launch site in south central Kazakhstan, where the first man was launched into space as well as Soviet space shuttle Buran and the well-known space station Mir.

Liste der Sehenswürdigkeiten

Baikonur205 Fotos

Baikonur (106) Markt von Baikonur

Koordinaten: 45° 37′ 23″ N, 63° 18′ 15″ O

Baikonur, formerly known as Leninsk, is a city in Kyzylorda province of Kazakhstan, rented and administered by Russia. It was constructed to service the Baikonur Cosmodrome and was officially renamed Baikonur by Russian president Boris Yeltsin on… [Mehr dazu]

Kosmodrom Baikonur166 Fotos

Sojus TMA-12 (229) Rollout von Sojus
Kosmodrom BaikonurKasachstan

Koordinaten: 45° 55′ 13″ N, 63° 20′ 32″ O

The Baikonur Cosmodrome, also called Tyuratam, is the world’s first and largest operational space launch facility. It is located in the desert steppes of Kazakhstan, about 200 km east of the Aral Sea, north of the Syr Darya River, near Tyuratam[Mehr dazu]


Siehe auch

Besuchte Länder51.322 Fotos

Schloss Neuschwanstein (160)
Schloss NeuschwansteinDeutschland

Liste der besuchten Länder weltweit. [Mehr dazu]

Belgien …507 FotosBhutan …617 FotosChina …1.008 FotosDeutschland …4.960 FotosFrankreich …3.205 FotosGriechenland …1.729 FotosIndien …5.139 FotosIsland …259 FotosItalien …23.495 FotosJemen …588 FotosJordanien …184 FotosKambodscha …627 FotosKasachstan …371 FotosLaos …1.275 FotosMyanmar …670 FotosNepal …1.678 FotosNiederlande …2.049 FotosNorwegen …206 FotosÖsterreich …16 FotosPeru …1.512 FotosRussland …381 FotosSuriname …35 FotosVatikanstadt136 FotosVereinigte Staaten …62 FotosVietnam …613 Fotos