Burghausen

100 Fotos

Diese Seite verwendet überhaupt keine Cookies. Wer diese Site besucht, kann sich daher darauf verlassen, dass seine Navigation in keiner Weise verfolgt und nicht für kommerzielle oder andere Zwecke profiliert wird.

BefreiungshalleBurghausenDeutschlandEibsee

Beschreibung

Burghausen (0062)
Burghausen (0062)
48° 9′ 24″ N, 12° 49′ 47″ O

Die alte Herzogsstadt Burghausen ist die größte Stadt im oberbayerischen Landkreis Altötting. Sie liegt an der Salzach, die hier die Grenze zu Österreich bildet. Auf einem Höhenzug über der Altstadt erstreckt sich die Burg zu Burghausen, die mit 1.051 m Länge die längste Burganlage der Welt ist.

[Mehr dazu]

Die Burg besteht aus sechs Burghöfen und ist bis auf wenige Ausnahmen aus Tuffquadersteinen (Travertin) errichtet. Ein großer Teil der Bauten und der Charakter der Gesamtanlage stammen aus der Zeit als Residenz der niederbayerischen Linie der Wittelsbacher (1392–1503). Nach dem Ende als Residenz erhielt Burghausen bis 1802 das Rentamt und damit Hauptstadtstatus, was zu weiteren Aus- und Umbauten der Burg führte. Als Garnisonsstandort (1763–1891) wurde die Burg zuletzt noch einmal stark verändert. Große Gebäudeteile wurden abgerissen, nicht zuletzt unter französischer Besatzung um 1800.

Die Wurzeln der Burganlage reichen weit zurück. Die außergewöhnliche Lage des Burgberges führte schon in der Bronze- und Eisenzeit zu einer Besiedlung im Bereich der heutigen Hauptburg. Außerdem stieß man bei Grabungen auf zahlreiche Spuren aus keltischer und römischer Zeit. Abgesehen von Fundamentresten stammen die ältesten Teile der Burg aus dem Hochmittelalter, die älteste bis heute erhaltene schriftliche Erwähnung stammt aus dem Jahr 1025.

Karte

Siehe auch

Deutschland4.226 Fotos

Oktoberfest (München) (0245) 2013
OktoberfestMünchen

Germany (Deutschland), officially the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesrepublik Deutschland), is a federal parliamentary republic in west-central Europe. The country consists of 16 states, and its capital and largest city is Berlin. Germany[Mehr dazu]

Burghausen (0062)

Burghausen100 photos

Description

Coordinates: 48° 9′ 24″ N, 12° 49′ 47″ E

The old town of Burghausen is the largest city in the Upper Bavarian district of Altötting. It lies on the Salzach, which forms the border with Austria here. Set on a hill above the old town, the Burghausen Castle is the longest castle in the world with 1,051 m.

The castle consists of six courtyards and is built only with few exceptions from travertine. Many of the buildings and the character of the whole system are from the time the Residence of the Bavarian line of the Wittelsbach’s family (1392-1503). After the end of the Residence, Burghausen had until 1802 the stewardship and thus capital status, which resulted in further extensions and conversions of the castle. As garrison (1763-1891) the castle was last strongly changed again. Large parts of the building were demolished, not least under French occupation of the 1800’s.

The roots of the castle date back far. The exceptional location of the castle hill already resulted in the Bronze and Iron Ages in a settlement in the area of the today’s main castle. In addition, numerous traces of Celtic and Roman times were discovered during excavations. Apart from the foundation remains, the oldest parts of the castle originates from the Middle Ages, the oldest extant written record dates from 1025.

Photo gallery

Don’t miss: Most beautiful photos of Germany

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1-Ds Mark III

Map

Open in Google Maps: Burghausen

See also

Germany4,938 photos

Oktoberfest (Munich) (0245) 2013
OktoberfestMunich - Germany

Germany (Deutschland), officially the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesrepublik Deutschland), is a federal parliamentary republic in west-central Europe. The country consists of 16 states, and its capital and largest city is Berlin. Germany[Read more]

Abensberg44 photosAltötting94 photosAmmersee51 photosAugsburg62 photosBarmsee4 photosBavarian Landscapes3 photosBefreiungshalle57 photosBlack-and-white pictures of Germany18 photosBrewery of Schönthal26 photosBurghausen100 photosEibsee32 photosFarmhouse museum Amerang51 photosFürstenfeld Abbey158 photosGeroldsee (Wagenbrüchsee)30 photosHarburg47 photosHintersee (Ramsauer Ache)13 photosHöllental Gorge47 photosHopfensee2 photosKallmünz15 photosKochelsee15 photosKönigssee52 photosLinderhof72 photosLüftlmalerei208 photosMaria Gern14 photosMaxhütte (Sulzbach-Rosenberg)226 photosMost beautiful photos of Germany328 photosMunich …2,270 photosNativity of Mary (Rottenbuch)29 photosNeuschwanstein Castle17 photosNuremberg80 photosOpen-air museum Glentleiten114 photosOttobeuren Abbey68 photosPartnach Gorge67 photosPilgrimage church Wilparting26 photosRamsau16 photosRegensburg12 photosRothenburg ob der Tauber100 photosSchuierer Mill82 photosVirgin Mary and St Michael Monastery70 photosWalhalla107 photosWeltenburg Abbey29 photosWieskirche47 photosZugspitze35 photos