The Amazon rainforest, alternatively, the Amazon jungle or Amazonia, is a moist broadleaf tropical rainforest in the Amazon biome that covers most of the Amazon basin of South America.

This basin encompasses 7,000,000 km², of which 5,500,000 km² are covered by the rainforest. This region includes territory belonging to nine nations and 3,344 formally acknowledged indigenous territories.

Puerto Moldonado is the capital of the Madre de Dios Region in the south-eastern Peru’s Amazon Rain Forest, 55 km of the Bolivian border on the confluence of the Tambopata and Madre de Dios River.

Manu National Park

It is a national park and biosphere reserve located in the regions of Madre de Dios and Cusco in Peru. It protects diverse ecosystems such as lowland rainforests, cloud forests and Andean grasslands.

Tambopata National Reserve

It is a Peruvian nature reserve located in the southeastern region of Madre de Dios. It was established on September 4, 2000, by decree of President Alberto Fujimori.

The reserve protects several ecosystems of the tropical rainforest for the preservation of such forest and the sustainable use of forest resources by the peoples around the reserve.

On the Monkey-island live Brown-mantled tamarin, Capuchin monkeys, Howler Monkey, Spider monkeys ….

Bahuaja-Sonene National Park

The park comprises river terraces, hills and mountains, with elevations ranging from 500 to 2450 m. The main rivers in the area are: Heath, Tambopata and Candamo. The park shares borders with Madidi National Park in Bolivia to the east and Tambopata National Reserve to the north.

Map: Amazon Rainforest
Map: Amazon Rainforest