Background (001)
Page d’accueil

Yangon[32 photos]

Ce site n'utilise pas de cookies du tout. Toute personne visitant ce site peut donc le faire en sachant que sa navigation ne sera en aucun cas suivie, et ne sera pas profilée à des fins commerciales ou autres.

Description

Birmanie (077) Shwedagon
Birmanie (077)Shwedagon

16° 47′ 56″ N, 96° 8′ 59″ E

Yangon (anciennement connu sous le nom de Rangoon, littéralement « la fin des conflits ») est la capitale de la région de Yangon au Myanmar, également connu sous le nom de Birmanie. Yangon a été la capitale du Myanmar jusqu’en 2006, lorsque le gouvernement militaire a déménagé la capitale dans la ville de Naypyidaw, située dans le centre du Myanmar. Avec plus de 7 millions de personnes, Yangon est la plus grande ville du Myanmar et est son centre commercial le plus important.

[Lire la suite]

Shwedagon Pagoda

La pagode de Shwedagon, nommée officiellement Shwedagon Zedi Daw et aussi connue sous le nom de Pagode du Grand Dagon et de la Pagode d’or, est une stupa dorée située à Yangon. La pagode de 99 m de haut est située sur la colline de Singuttara, à l’ouest du lac Kandawgyi, et domine l’horizon de Yangon. La pagode de Shwedagon est la pagode bouddhiste la plus sacrée au Myanmar, car elle est censée contenir des reliques des quatre Bouddhas antérieurs du kalpa actuel. Ces reliques comprennent le bâton de Kakusandha, le filtre à eau de Koṇāgamana, un morceau de la robe de Kassapa et huit cheveux de la tête de Gautama. Les historiens et les archéologues soutiennent que la pagode a été construite par le peuple Mon entre les 6ème et 10ème siècles. Cependant, selon la légende, la pagode Shwedagon a été construite il y a plus de 2 600 ans, ce qui en ferait le plus ancien stupa bouddhiste dans le monde.

Voir aussi

Autres sites en Birmanie

Birmanie (707) Rocher d’Or - Pagode Kyaiktiyo
Birmanie (707)Rocher d’OrPagode Kyaiktiyo

17° 28′ 57″ N, 97° 5′ 54″ E

La pagode de Kuthodaw est un stupa bouddhiste, situé à Mandalay, qui contient le plus grand livre du monde. Il se trouve au pied du Mandalay Hill et a été construit sous le règne de King Mindon. Le stupa lui-même, doré au-dessus de ses terrasses, a… [Lire la suite]

Bagan

Birmanie (429) Bagan
Birmanie (429)Bagan

21° 10′ 10″ N, 94° 53′ 49″ E

Bagan (anciennement Pagan) est une ville ancienne située dans la région de Mandalay au Myanmar. Du 9ème au 13ème siècle, la ville était la capitale du royaume de Pagan, premier royaume qui unifiait les régions qui constitueraient plus tard le… [Lire la suite]

Birmanie

Birmanie (077) Shwedagon
Birmanie (077)Shwedagon

Le Myanmar, officiellement la République de l’Union du Myanmar (ပြည်ထောင် စု သမ္မတ မြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်) et aussi connu sous le nom de Birmanie, est un État souverain en Asie du Sud-Est bordé par le Bangladesh, l’Inde, la Chine, le Laos et la… [Lire la suite]

Inle

Birmanie (621) Lac Inle
Birmanie (621)Lac Inle

20° 31′ 40″ N, 96° 55′ 22″ E

Inle Lake, est un lac d’eau douce situé dans le canton de Nyaungshwe du district de Taunggyi dans l’État de Shan, une partie des collines Shan au Myanmar (Birmanie). C’est le deuxième plus grand lac au Myanmar avec une surface estimée de 116 km2,… [Lire la suite]

Villages de Birmanie

Birmanie (479) Villages
Birmanie (479)Villages

20° 40′ 37″ N, 96° 33′ 24″ E

Le Myanmar est ethniquement très diversifié. Le gouvernement reconnaît 135 groupes ethniques distincts. Il existe certains, y compris les Rohingya, qui ne sont pas reconnus par le gouvernement. Bien qu’il soit extrêmement difficile de vérifier… [Lire la suite]

Yangon

32 photos

This site does not use cookies at all. Whoever visits this site can therefore do so knowing that his navigation will not be tracked in any way, and will not be profiled for commercial or other purposes.

YangonMyanmar

Description

Myanmar (077) Shwedagon
Myanmar (077)Shwedagon
16° 47′ 56″ N, 96° 8′ 59″ E

Yangon (formerly known as Rangoon, literally “End of Strife”) is the capital of the Yangon Region of Myanmar, also known as Burma. Yangon served as the capital of Myanmar until 2006, when the military government relocated the capital to the purpose-built city of Naypyidaw in central Myanmar. With over 7 million people, Yangon is Myanmar’s largest city and is its most important commercial centre.

[Read more]

Shwedagon Pagoda

The Shwedagon Pagoda, officially named Shwedagon Zedi Daw and also known as the Great Dagon Pagoda and the Golden Pagoda, is a gilded stupa located in Yangon. The 99 m tall pagoda is situated on Singuttara Hill, to the west of Kandawgyi Lake, and dominates the Yangon skyline. Shwedagon Pagoda is the most sacred Buddhist pagoda in Myanmar, as it is believed to contain relics of the four previous Buddhas of the present kalpa. These relics include the staff of Kakusandha, the water filter of Koṇāgamana, a piece of the robe of Kassapa, and eight strands of hair from the head of Gautama. Historians and archaeologists maintain that the pagoda was built by the Mon people between the 6th and 10th centuries. However, according to legend, the Shwedagon Pagoda was constructed more than 2,600 years ago, which would make it the oldest Buddhist stupa in the world.

Photos

Click the pictures to view them in full screen

Collage index

Photo index

Myanmar (027) Shwedagon
Myanmar (027)Shwedagon
Myanmar (030) Shwedagon
Myanmar (030)Shwedagon
Myanmar (033) Shwedagon
Myanmar (033)Shwedagon
Myanmar (034) Shwedagon
Myanmar (034)Shwedagon
Myanmar (038) Shwedagon
Myanmar (038)Shwedagon
Myanmar (039) Shwedagon
Myanmar (039)Shwedagon
Myanmar (040) Shwedagon
Myanmar (040)Shwedagon
Myanmar (041) Shwedagon
Myanmar (041)Shwedagon
Myanmar (044) Shwedagon
Myanmar (044)Shwedagon
Myanmar (047) Shwedagon
Myanmar (047)Shwedagon
Myanmar (048) Shwedagon
Myanmar (048)Shwedagon
Myanmar (049) Shwedagon
Myanmar (049)Shwedagon
Myanmar (050) Shwedagon
Myanmar (050)Shwedagon
Myanmar (052) Shwedagon
Myanmar (052)Shwedagon
Myanmar (053) Shwedagon
Myanmar (053)Shwedagon
Myanmar (054) Shwedagon
Myanmar (054)Shwedagon
Myanmar (055) Shwedagon
Myanmar (055)Shwedagon
Myanmar (057) Shwedagon
Myanmar (057)Shwedagon
Myanmar (059) Shwedagon
Myanmar (059)Shwedagon
Myanmar (061) Shwedagon
Myanmar (061)Shwedagon
Myanmar (062) Shwedagon
Myanmar (062)Shwedagon
Myanmar (063) Shwedagon
Myanmar (063)Shwedagon
Myanmar (064) Shwedagon
Myanmar (064)Shwedagon
Myanmar (065) Shwedagon
Myanmar (065)Shwedagon
Myanmar (066) Shwedagon
Myanmar (066)Shwedagon
Myanmar (067) Shwedagon
Myanmar (067)Shwedagon
Myanmar (070) Shwedagon
Myanmar (070)Shwedagon
Myanmar (071) Shwedagon
Myanmar (071)Shwedagon
Myanmar (073) Shwedagon
Myanmar (073)Shwedagon
Myanmar (076) Shwedagon
Myanmar (076)Shwedagon
Myanmar (077) Shwedagon
Myanmar (077)Shwedagon
Myanmar (090) Shwedagon
Myanmar (090)Shwedagon

Pictures taken with a Rolleiflex 6800 and scanned with a Nikon LS 9000 ED

Map

See also

Bagan76 photos

Myanmar (429) Bagan
BaganMyanmar
21° 10′ 10″ N, 94° 53′ 49″ E

Bagan (formerly Pagan) is an ancient city located in the Mandalay Region of Myanmar. From the 9th to 13th centuries, the city was the capital of the Pagan Kingdom, the first kingdom that unified the regions that would later constitute modern… [Read more]

Inle56 photos

Myanmar (621) Lake Inle
InleMyanmar
20° 31′ 40″ N, 96° 55′ 22″ E

Inle Lake, is a freshwater lake located in the Nyaungshwe Township of Taunggyi District of Shan State, part of Shan Hills in Myanmar (Burma). It is the second largest lake in Myanmar with an estimated surface area of 116 km2, and one of the highest… [Read more]

Myanmar308 photos

Other sites in Myanmar115 photos

Myanmar (707) Golden Rock - Kyaiktiyo Pagoda
Other sites in MyanmarMyanmar
20° 55′ 40″ N, 96° 39′ 5″ E

Kuthodaw Pagoda is a Buddhist stupa, located in Mandalay, that contains the world’s largest book. It lies at the foot of Mandalay Hill and was built during the reign of King Mindon. The stupa itself, which is gilded above its terraces, is 57 m… [Read more]

Villages in Myanmar29 photos

Myanmar (479) Villages
Villages in MyanmarMyanmar
20° 40′ 37″ N, 96° 33′ 24″ E

Myanmar is ethnically diverse. The government recognises 135 distinct ethnic groups. There exist some, including the Rohingya, which are unrecognised by the government. While it is extremely difficult to verify this statement, there are at least… [Read more]