Goðafoss (119)

Goðafoss8 photos

Description

Coordonnées : 65° 40′ 58″ N, 17° 33′ 2″ O

Le Goðafoss (« cascade des dieux » ou « cascade des goði ») est une cascade en Islande. Il est situé dans le district de Bárðardalur de la région Nord-Est au début de la route de montagne Sprengisandur. L’eau de la rivière Skjálfandafljót tombe d’une hauteur de 12 m sur une largeur de 30 m. La rivière a son origine dans les hautes terres islandaises et s’étend de la montagne à travers la vallée de Bárðardalur, de Sprengisandur dans les Highlands.

En l’an 999 ou 1000 le juriste Þorgeir Ljósvetningagoði a fait du christianisme la religion officielle de l’Islande. On dit qu’il revient de l’Alþingi, Þorgeir a jeté ses statues des dieux nordiques dans la cascade. L’histoire du rôle de Þorgeir dans l’adoption du christianisme en Islande est conservée dans Íslendingabók d’Ari Þorgilsson.

Galerie photo

Ne manquez pas : Plus belles photos d’Islande

Photos prises avec un Canon EOS1-D X Mark II

Carte

Ouvrir dans Google Maps : Goðafoss

Voir aussi

Islande259 photos

Klifatindur (071)
KlifatindurIslande

L’Islande est un pays insulaire nordique de l’Europe situé dans l’océan Atlantique Nord. Il a une population de 332.529 habitants et une superficie de 103.000 km², ce qui en fait le pays le moins peuplé d’Europe. La capitale et la plus grande ville… [Lire la suite]

Aurore Boréale (Islande)11 photosBreiðamerkursandur17 photosChevaux islandais4 photosDyrhólaey7 photosEystrahorn4 photosFjords de l’Est (Islande)6 photosGoðafoss8 photosGrottes glaciaires du Vatnajökull9 photosGullfoss10 photosHverarönd29 photosHvítserkur7 photosJökulsárlón28 photosKirkjufell5 photosKlifatindur16 photosMývatn5 photosPaysages Islandais3 photosPlus belles photos d’Islande65 photosReynisfjara20 photosSkógafoss5 photos

Goðafoss8 photos

Description

Goðafoss (119)
Goðafoss (119)

Coordinates: 65° 40′ 58″ N, 17° 33′ 2″ W

The Goðafoss (“waterfall of the gods” or “waterfall of the goði”) is a waterfall in Iceland. It is located in the Bárðardalur district of Northeastern Region at the beginning of the Sprengisandur highland road. The water of the river Skjálfandafljót falls from a height of 12 m over a width of 30 m. The river has its origin deep in the Icelandic highland and runs from the highland through the Bárðardalur valley, from Sprengisandur in the Highlands.

In the year 999 or 1000 the lawspeaker Þorgeir Ljósvetningagoði made Christianity the official religion of Iceland. According to a modern myth, it is said that upon returning from the Alþingi, Þorgeir threw his statues of the Norse gods into the waterfall. The story of Þorgeir’s role in the adoption of Christianity in Iceland is preserved in Ari Þorgilsson’s Íslendingabók.

Photo gallery

Don’t miss: Most beautiful photos of Iceland

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1-D X Mark II

Map

Open in Google Maps: Goðafoss

See also

Iceland194 photos

Klifatindur (071)
KlifatindurIceland

Iceland is a Nordic island country of Europe located in the North Atlantic Ocean. It has a population of 332,529 and an area of 103,000 km², making it the most sparsely populated country in Europe. The capital and largest city is Reykjavík. … [Read more]

Aurora Borealis (Iceland)11 photosBreiðamerkursandur17 photosDyrhólaey7 photosEast Fjords (Iceland)6 photosEystrahorn4 photosGoðafoss8 photosGullfoss10 photosHverarönd29 photosHvítserkur7 photosIcelandic Horses4 photosIcelandic Landscapes3 photosJökulsárlón28 photosKirkjufell5 photosKlifatindur16 photosMývatn5 photosReynisfjara20 photosSkógafoss5 photosVatnajökull ice caves9 photos