Symi

237 photos

Ce site n'utilise pas de cookies du tout. Toute personne visitant ce site peut donc le faire en sachant que sa navigation ne sera en aucun cas suivie, et ne sera pas profilée à des fins commerciales ou autres.

SantorinSymiGrèce

Description

Symi (0719) Kali Strata
Symi (0719)Kali Strata
36° 36′ 56″ N, 27° 50′ 10″ E

Symi (Σύμη) est une île grecque montagneuse et comprend la ville portuaire d’Yialos et sa ville supérieure adjacente Chorio, ainsi que plusieurs localités plus petites et des zones d’importance dans l’histoire et la mythologie. Les industries de la construction navale et d’éponges ont été considérables sur l’île et, à leur apogée vers la fin du 19ème siècle, la population avait atteint 22 500.

[Lire la suite]

Monastère des Taxiarchis

Le monastère orthodoxe grec de Taxiarchis Mihail Panormitis est le plus important sur l’île et le deuxième plus grand dans les Îles du Dodécanèse après le monastère de St Jean le Théologien à Patmos. Le monastère est situé à l’extrémité sud de Symi, situé sur le front de mer du petit village de Panormitis. Le monastère est un grand bâtiment dans le style vénitien du 18ème siècle avec le plus haut clocher baroque dans le monde. La façade de la structure principale est blanche et s’étend le long de la côte de chaque côté de la porte d’entrée principale. Une fois à l’intérieur de la porte principale du monastère, les visiteurs sont accueillis par une cour intérieure, décorées avec des arbres et de plantes exotiques, et des pavées d’« hokhlakia ». L’église dédiée à Panormiti est sur la gauche et contient à l’intérieur l’icône en feuilles d’argent de Panormiti de 2 m de haut. La date historique exacte de la construction de cette église reste inconnue, mais certains suggèrent qu’elle a été construite autour de 450 après JC sur le site d’un ancien temple dédié au dieu païen Apollon. Il est certain que l’église actuelle a subi une rénovation majeure dans le 18ème siècle pour l’amener à la norme qui est en vigueur aujourd’hui.

Carte

Voir aussi

Grèce1 630 photos

Santorin (0287) Oia
Santorin

La Grèce (Ελλάδα), officiellement la République Hellénique et connue depuis l’antiquité comme Hellas, est un pays d’Europe du Sud. La Grèce est stratégiquement située au carrefour de l’Europe, l’Asie occidentale et l’Afrique, et partage ses… [Lire la suite]

Villages de bord de mer2 676 photos

Manarola (396)
ManarolaLigurie

Les plus beaux villages de bord de mer à travers le monde.[Lire la suite]

Austria16 photosBelgium280 photosBhutan255 photosCambodia265 photosChina284 photosFrance2,651 photosGermany4,246 photosGreece1,630 photosIceland194 photosIndia3,728 photosItaly14,222 photosJordan184 photosKazakhstan376 photosLaos1,162 photosMyanmar308 photosNepal954 photosNetherlands1,995 photosNorway138 photosPeru1,335 photosRussia386 photosSuriname35 photosUnited States62 photosVatican City136 photosVietnam251 photosYemen226 photosDelos39 photosDelphi51 photosGalaxidi9 photosHosios Loukas58 photosIos47 photosMeteora110 photosMykonos99 photosNaxos131 photosParos163 photosPatmos211 photosRhodes264 photosSantorini211 photosSymi237 photosAlps314 photosArcheological sites2,128 photosArchitectures and buildings1,016 photosBeaches361 photosBlack-and-white photography143 photosCastels and palaces1,516 photosChurches2,736 photosEtruscans210 photosFestivals2,482 photosHilltop villages3,663 photosHimalayas2,300 photosLakes565 photosLost places712 photosMuseums1,308 photosOpen-air museums369 photosRomantic Road302 photosSeaside villages2,676 photosSeven billion neighbors452 photosSpace centers516 photosStrange places1,151 photosStreet Art306 photosWorld Heritage Site (UNESCO)6,487 photosMost beautiful black and white photos64 photosMost beautiful photos of America202 photosMost beautiful photos of Asia298 photosMost beautiful photos of Asia (Middle format)362 photosMost beautiful photos of France105 photosMost beautiful photos of Germany321 photosMost beautiful photos of Greece99 photosMost beautiful photos of Iceland65 photosMost beautiful photos of Italy663 photosMost beautiful photos of Norway68 photosMost beautiful pictures of the Benelux223 photosMost popular pagesHome pageCountries visited35,319 photosThemes31,713 photosMost beautiful photos2,470 photosMost popular pagesNewest pagesSitemapPublicationsContact

Symi

237 photos

Description

Symi (0719) Kali Strata
Symi (0719)Kali Strata

Coordinates: 36° 36′ 56″ N, 27° 50′ 10″ E

Symi (Σύμη) is a mountainous Greek island and includes the harbour town Yialos and its adjacent upper town Chorio, as well as several smaller localities and areas of significance in history and mythology. The shipbuilding and sponge industries were substantial on the island and, while at their peak near the end of the 19th century, the population reached 22,500.

[Read more]

Monastery of the Taxiarchis

The Greek Orthodox Monastery of Taxiarchis Mihail Panormitis is the most important on the island and second largest in the Dodecanese after the monastery of St John the Theologian in Patmos. The monastery is located on the south end of Symi, situated on the sea front of the tiny village of Panormitis. The monastery is a large 18th century Venetian styled building with the highest baroque bell tower in the world. The facade of the main structure is white and it stretches along the coast on either side of the main gateway. Once inside the monastery main gate, visitors are welcomed by an inner courtyard, decorated with exotic trees and plants, and paved with “hokhlakia”. The church dedicated to the Panormiti is on the left and inside contains the 2 m high, silver-leafed, wall icon of the Panormiti. The exact historical date of the construction of this church remains unknown but some suggest that it was built around 450 AD over the site of an ancient temple dedicated to the pagan god Apollo. It is known for certainty that the existing church underwent a major renovation in the 18th century to bring it to the standard that is in existence today.

Photo gallery

Don’t miss: Most beautiful photos of Greece

Pictures taken with a Canon EOS1-Ds Mark III

Map

Greece1,630 photos

Santorini (0287) Oia
SantoriniGreece

Greece (Ελλάδα), officially the Hellenic Republic and known since ancient times as Hellas, is a country in Southeast Europe. Greece is strategically located at the crossroads of Europe, Western Asia, and Africa, and shares land borders with Albania[Read more]

Delos39 photosDelphi51 photosGalaxidi9 photosHosios Loukas58 photosIos47 photosMeteora110 photosMykonos99 photosNaxos131 photosParos163 photosPatmos211 photosRhodes264 photosSantorini211 photosSymi237 photos

Seaside villages2,676 photos

Manarola (396)
ManarolaLiguria - Italy

The most beautiful seaside villages around the world. [Read more]

Amalfi Coast189 photosCapri84 photosGiovinazzo41 photosHamnøy3 photosIschia83 photosIsola del Giglio117 photosLadispoli51 photosManarola27 photosMykonos99 photosNaxos131 photosNusfjord15 photosParos163 photosPeschici85 photosPolignano a Mare85 photosPonza223 photosPorto Venere32 photosProcida153 photosReine16 photosRiomaggiore21 photosSakrisøy6 photosSanta Severa30 photosSantorini211 photosSorrento60 photosSperlonga46 photosSymi237 photosTrani114 photosVenice121 photosVentotene172 photosVernazza30 photosVieste31 photos