Paesi Bassi

1.995 foto

Questo sito non utilizza cookies. Chi visita questo sito può quindi farlo sapendo che la sua navigazione non verrà tracciata in alcun modo, e non sarà profilata per scopi commerciali o di altro tipo.

Paesi BassiPaesi visitati


Amsterdam (151)
Amsterdam (151)

The Netherlands is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, located mainly in North-West Europe and with some islands in the Caribbean. Mainland Netherlands borders the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east, and shares maritime borders with Belgium, Germany and the United Kingdom. It is a parliamentary democracy organised as a unitary state. The country capital is Amsterdam and the seat of government is The Hague. The Netherlands in its entirety is often referred to as Holland, although North and South Holland are actually only two of its twelve provinces.

[Per saperne di più]

The Netherlands is a geographically low-lying country, with about 25% of its area and 21% of its population located below sea level, and 50% of its land lying less than one metre above sea level. This distinct feature contributes to the country’s name, its name literally means “(The) Low Countries”. Most of the areas below sea level are man-made, caused by centuries of extensive and poorly controlled peat extraction, lowering the surface by several meters. Even in flooded areas peat extraction continued through turf dredging. As from the late 16th century land reclamation started and large polder areas are now preserved through elaborate drainage systems with dikes, canals and pumping stations. Much of The Netherlands is formed by the estuary of three important European rivers, which together with their distributaries form the Rhine-Meuse-Scheldt delta. Most of the country is very flat, with the exception of foothills in the far south-east and several low-hill ranges in the central parts.

The Netherlands was one of the first countries to have an elected parliament. Among other affiliations, the country is a founding member of the EU, NATO, OECD and WTO. Netherlands has the ninth-highest per capita income in the world. With Belgium and Luxembourg it forms the Benelux economic union. The country is host to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons and five international courts: the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, the International Criminal Court and the Special Tribunal for Lebanon. The first four are situated in The Hague as is the EU’s criminal intelligence agency Europol and judicial co-operation agency Eurojust. This has led to the city being dubbed “the world’s legal capital”.

Elenco dei siti

Alkmaar40 foto

Almere107 foto

Amersfoort14 foto

Amsterdam121 foto

Bergen op Zoom4 foto

Delft43 foto

Edam - Volendam55 foto

Enkhuizen126 foto

Gouda62 foto

Groninga143 foto

Haarlem53 foto

Haarzuilens72 foto

Heemskerk19 foto

Heeswijk27 foto

Hilversum42 foto

Hoensbroek4 foto

Hoorn67 foto

Katwijk aan Zee17 foto

Kinderdijk105 foto

Leiden17 foto

Lelystad99 foto

Maastricht73 foto

Marken62 foto

Middelburg48 foto

Muiderslot22 foto

Oudenbosch23 foto

Rotterdam164 foto

Scheveningen188 foto

Slochteren16 foto

Voorschoten41 foto

Zaanse Schans78 foto

’s-Hertogenbosch43 foto


Vedi anche

Paesi visitati35.131 foto