Manarola (499)
Photo: Manarola

Cinque Terre
77 Photos
44° 7′ N, 9° 43′ E


The Cinque Terre is a rugged portion of coast on the Italian Riviera, in the Liguria region of Italy. “The Five Lands” comprises five villages: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore.

The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hillsides are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Cinque Terre is noted for its beauty. Over centuries, people have carefully built terraces on the rugged, steep landscape right up to the cliffs that overlook the sea. …

Show the remaining text

Part of its charm is the lack of visible “modern” development. Paths, trains and boats connect the villages.

The first historical documents on the Cinque Terre date back to the 11th century. Monterosso and Vernazza sprang up first, while the other villages grew later, under military and political supremacy of the Republic of Genoa.

In the 16th century to oppose the attacks by the Turks, the inhabitants reinforced the old forts and built new defence towers. From the year 1600, the Cinque Terre experienced a decline which reversed only in the 19th century, thanks to the construction of the Military Arsenal of La Spezia and to the building of the railway line between Genoa and La Spezia.

The locals lived off vineyards and olive cultivation.


Map: Cinque Terre
Map: Cinque Terre

List of sights
77 Photos

Manarola (396)
Photo: Manarola

26 Photos

Manarola is a small village in the province of La Spezia, Liguria, northern Italy. It is the second smallest of the famous five Cinque Terre villages. …

Map: Manarola
Map: Manarola
Riomaggiore (153)
Photo: Riomaggiore

21 Photos

Riomaggiore is a village in the province of La Spezia, situated in a small valley in the Liguria region of Italy. It is the first of the Cinque Terre one …

Map: Riomaggiore
Map: Riomaggiore
Vernazza (203)
Photo: Vernazza

30 Photos

Vernazza is a town and comune located in the province of La Spezia, Liguria, northwestern Italy. It is one of the five towns that make up the Cinque Terre

Map: Vernazza
Map: Vernazza